SP college wins Purushottam Karandak

Sir Parashurambhau College, SP college, SP college intercollege theater competition, Pune intercollege theater competition, latest newsSP College students celebrate after winning the award

Sir Parashurambhau College has won the prestigious Purushottam Karandak— the inter-collegiate theatre competition— for the fourth time.

Hemant Vaidya, secretary of Maharashtra Kalopasak, the body which organises this competition, said this would be the first time a single college has won the competition for four years. Vaidya said in the past, colleges like BJ Medical College had won the competition three times, but SP college would be the first to win the prestigious award four times. “The college had won the award in 2009, 2011 and 2013,” he said. Yash Ruikar of SP College won the best actor overall, and the best actor male award, while the best actress award was bagged by Sharayu Dhote a student of Cummins College of Engineering.

Vaidya, said 51 colleges had participated in the competitions of which nine were selected for the final round. Similar competitions would be held in other cities once the prize distribution for Pune is completed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *